Admin Login

Peter McNulty Shield Final – Kildare v Tipperary

By christinemurray06 Sun 29th Jan

Peter McNulty Shield Final – Kildare v Tipperary
Peter McNulty Shield Final – Kildare v Tipperary


Peter McNulty Shield Final

The Kildare Under 21 panel that won the Peter McNulty Shield Final.

Kildare 3-13

Tipperary 0-04

A strong first half performance set up  Kildare Under 21’s for a victory over Tipperary in the Peter McNulty Shield Final on Sunday afternoon.

Tipperary opened the scoring in the 4th minute when full forward Joe Ryan converted a free. Conor Hartley opened Kildare’s account of the day with a point from play in the 8th minute followed by excellent point from his club team mate Ben McCormack in the 15th minute to put Kildare in the lead for the first time and lead they never lost. Kildare’s first goal came in 17th minute Daniel Courtney sent in a great ball to Eoghan Boyle in full forward who was fouled and awarded a penalty which Paddy Woodgate successfully scored to put them into a 1-01 lead. Paddy Woodgate kicked two points from play in the 20th & 23rd minute before Eoghan Boyle scored Kildare’s second goal in the 25th minute followed by their third goal coming from Ben McCormack in the 26th minute to put them into a comfortable 3-03 lead. Kildare were dominating the game and playing some excellent football and Tipperary found it hard to break down Kildare’s strong defence. Cian Costigan (2), Stephen Comerford, Ben Mc Cormack and Paddy Woodgate added points in the closing stages of the first half to leave a half time score of 3-09 to 0-01.

Kildare’s made five changes at half time taking off their senior footballers due to the Senior teams league opener next Sunday 5th February. Tipperary opened the scoring with two points in the opening five minutes coming from Joe Ryan and Ross Peters. Paddy Woodgate kicked Kildare’s first point of the second half in the 40th minute with a converted free followed by a brilliant point from half time substitute Jack Robinson. Tipperary replied with point from Joe Ryan which was to be there last score of the game. Daniel Courtney made a great run from midfield to knock over a score in the 58th minute followed by a second point from play from Jack Robinson in the 60th minute to leave a full time score of 3-13 to 0-04.

One change to the starting team : David Randles for Darren Maguire


Jack Robinson for Ben McCormack

Jason Gibbons for Shea Ryan

Kevin Foley for Conor Hartley

John Moran for Mark Hyland

Aaron Masterson for Con Kavanagh

Mark Hyland for Jason Gibbons

Cian Byrne for Paddy Woodgate

Stefan Lawlor for Mark Hyland


Paddy Woodgate 1-04

Ben McCormack 1-02

Eoghan Boyle 1-00

Cian Costigan 0-02

Jack Robinson 0-02

Conor Hartley 0-01

Stephen Comerford 0-01

Jason Gibbons 0-01

By christinemurray06 Sun 29th Jan


Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Partners