May 21st, 2017

Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Football Championship

Quarter Final

Kildare 1-14 Laois 2-06

A brilliant second half performance from the Kildare Minor team on Saturday afternoon  secured their place in the Leinster Minor Football Championship Semi-Final.

A highly entertaining game, Laois started strongly kicking three points in the opening four minutes. David Kelly and James Carey reduced the deficit to a point but Laois replied with goals in the 15th and 16th minute to put them into a comfortable seven point lead. Kildare kicked the next three scores of the game with points coming from Darragh Kirwan and David Kelly (2) to leave a half time score of 2-03 to 0-05 in favour of Laois.

Kildare got off to a flying start in the second half scoring 1-01 in the opening four minutes coming from Darragh Ryan. David Kelly put them in the lead for the first time in the 38th minute with his fourth point of the game and after this Kildare never looked back and went on to deservedly win the game 1-14 to 2-06.

Scorers for Kildare: David Kelly 0-06f, Darragh Ryan 1-02, Darragh Kirwan 0-02 (1f) Shane O’Sullivan 0-02 (1f) David Foley 0-01 and Ger Cunningham 0-01.


Aaron O’Neill, Daneil Reilly, Mark Barrett, Lee Loughnane, Adam  Cronin, Niall O’Connor, Darragh Ryan, James Carey, David Kelly, Brian  McDonnell, Niall O’Sullivan, Findlay Nairn,  Shane O’Sullivan, Jack Cully, Darragh Kirwan.


Evin McGovern for Lee Loughnane

Ger Cunningham for Darragh Ryan

David Foley for James Carey

Jack Travers for Brian McDonnell

Pauric Tuohy for Niall O’Sullivan

Posted in: News

Date: 21st May 2017