Admin Login

Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Championship Semi-Final

By christinemurray06 Thu 6th Jul

Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Championship Semi-Final
Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Championship Semi-Final


Commiserations to the Kildare Minor team & management on their defeat to Dublin in the semi-final of the Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Football Championship.

Thanks to the team & management for their commitment & effort throughout their 2017 campaign. You’re a credit to your club and the county!

Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Championship Semi-Final

Dublin 1-16 Kildare 0-14

By Seán O’Regan at St. Conleth’s Park, Newbridge

A first-half goal from Ross McGarry proved crucial as Dublin defeated Kildare in tonight’s Electric Ireland Leinster Minor Football Championship Semi-Final at St. Conleth’s Park.

The Sky Blues took some time to get warmed up, and efforts from Findlay Nairn, Shane O’Sullivan and James Burke opened up an early three point lead for Kildare. In fact, Dublin were forced to wait 15 minutes to open their account and did so through that man McGarry.

For much of the first-half a valiant Kildare back six kept any Dublin attack at bay and impressed throughout, throwing themselves in front of the on-rushing forwards in blue. Aaron O’Neill’s kick outs were flawless from start to finish and launched attacks from deep, and players such as Darragh Kirwan reaped the rewards by finishing off the free-flowing moves.

At the other end, yet another goal chance for the Dubs was squandered as James Madden hammered the crossbar. The rebound was met by David Lacey but a last-ditch effort from Kildare’s Daniel Reilly kept the difference at a single point.

Finally Dublin did hit the back of the net and ultimately it was the goal that crushed the Lilies hopes of claiming a third Leinster title in a row. McGarry was in the right place at the right time and made no mistake after an incisive James Doran run.

The second half started much like the first for the hosts. Three frees from Leixlip man Jack Barrett brought the sides level. Two fisted efforts raised two white flags for Dublin midfielder Donal Ryan, while Daniel Brennan and Darragh Kirwan responded at the town end goal of Newbridge.

Gay Campbell’s boys in white were much more porous in the second half than they were in the first, allowing the Dubs to run through at will. James Doran who hit 1-05 in their quarter final victory over Meath got his name on the scoresheet, while Hawkshaw and Lacey added to their ever growing accounts.

In what was one of the most open games you’ll see, in which there were no sweepers or flooding men back, the end to end trend continued as Kildare pushed hard to get themselves back into contention. Unfortunately for them however, after hitting seven from play in the first half, the wide count rose as legs began to tire.

Football purists would have loved this encounter. Great scores, not a dirty stroke and some proper football which was epitomised by David Lacey’s score to wrap up the scoring in the fourth minute of injury time, which brought his personal tally to three points.

Dublin’s reward for their 1-16 to 0-14 defeat of Kildare is a Leinster final clash with Louth, who beat Wexford last night and reached their first Leinster Final in 41 years.

Scorers for Dublin: Ross McGarry 1-02 (2f), David Lacey 0-05 (1f), Seán Hawkshaw 0-03, Daniel Brennan 0-02, Donal Ryan 0-02, James Doran 0-01, Ciarán Archer 0-01

Scorers for Kildare: Darragh Kirwan 0-04, Jack Barrett 0-03 (3f), Shane O’Sullivan 0-02, Findlay Nairn 0-01, James Burke 0-01, Darragh Ryan 0-01, Brian McDonnell 0-01, Jack Cully 0-01

Dublin: David O’Hanlon, Darren Maher, Peadar Ó Cofaigh Byrne, Liam Flatman, Kieran Kennedy, Neil Matthews, Eoin O’Dea, Donal Ryan, Mark Tracey, Daniel Brennan, James Doran, James Madden, Ross McGarry, Seán Hawkshaw, David Lacey.

Subs: Adam Byrne for Daniel Brennan (41), Ciarán Archer for Ross McGarry (51), Karl Lynch for Donal Ryan (55), Darragh Conlon for James Madden (58), Aaron Lynch for Darren Maher (62)

Kildare: Aaron O’Neill, Daniel Reilly, Mark Barrett, DJ Earley, Darragh Ryan, Niall O’Connor, Conor Murphy, Cian McQuillan, David Kelly, Brian McDonnell, James Burke, Findlay Nairn, Jack Barrett, Shane O’Sullivan, Darragh Kirwan.

Subs: Adam Cronin for Conor Murphy (36), Jack Cully for Shane O’Sullivan (41), David Foley for James Burke (44), Evin McGovern for Niall O’Connor (46), Niall O’Sullivan for Findlay Nairn (50), Ger Cunnigham for Jack Barrett (55)

Referee: John Hickey (Carlow)

By christinemurray06 Thu 6th Jul


Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Partners